Film Unions Master Agreement Ratified to 2015

March 2, 2012
Posted by: Paul Clausen

The three Council member unions –

the Motion Picture Studio Production Technicians, IATSE Local 891, Teamsters Local Union No. 155, and the International Cinematographers Guild, Western Canada, IATSE Local 669 and the Negotiating producers from the Canadian Media Production Association ‘ BC Producers’ Branch (CMPA-BC) and the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers, Canadian Affiliates (AMPTP), have renewed the Master Agreement for another three years. The balloting resulted in endorsement of the three-year pact. The agreement is effective April 1, 2012 through to March 2015.

Through its member Unions, the BC Council of Film Unions represents over 10,000 employees who work behind the scenes in the film and television industry. This is the seventh Master Agreement negotiated since the formation of the Council in 1996. These agreements have provided a stable labour relations framework essential to the continued growth of the motion picture industry in British Columbia.

The new agreement provides a 2% annual increase and is expected to stimulate continued growth.

For more information contact:

Ken Anderson, IATSE Local 891, 604-664-8910

Ken Marsden, Teamsters Local Union No. 155, 604-876-8898

Marcus Handman, IATSE Local 669, 778-330-1669