The MPPIA Short Film Award

Presented in cooperation with Creative BC and the Whistler Film Festival, the MPPIA Short Film Award provides one filmmaker with an opportunity to further develop his/her/their directing career by realizing a unique creative vision. Established in 2007, The Award was founded to recognize and celebrate the contribution of film and television to the Province of British Columbia.

The successful candidate receives a $15,000 cash award and in-kind production services up to $100,000 for a short film project.

This annual Award is possible with the generous support of British Columbia’s motion picture production community. Today the legacy grows:

After a 2 year pause 2020-21, the 2022 MPPIA SFA pitch competition is set to take place at the 2023 Whistler Film Festival, running in person from Nov. 30-Dec. 4, and online Dec. 1-31.

Click on the links below for more on past MPPIA Short Film Award Winners.

2019, Wildflower, Heather Perluzzo Director

2018, B-Side, Alayna Silverberg Director

2017, 20 Minutes to Life, Veronika Kurz Director

2016, Good Girls Don’t, Ana de Lara Director

2015, Hoods, Maja Aro Director

2014, Vehicular Romanticide, Andrew Rowe Director

2013, The Future Perfect, Nick Citton Director

2012, True Love Waits, Jon Ornoy Director

2011,Beauty Mark, Mark Ratzlaff Director

2010,Joanna Makes a Friend , Jeremy Lutter Director

2009, Move Out Clean, Kelly-Ruth Mercier Director

2008,The Gray Matter, Steven Deneault Director

2007, The Light of Family Burnam, Marshall Axani Director